2014 The Metropolitan Nominations Released

August 26th, 2014

A talented field of 87 stayers have been nominated for an appearance in the 2014 Group 1 The Metropolitan (2400m) at Royal Randwick on October 4th, highlighted by several previous winners at the highest level of Australian racing.

Trainer Chris Waller has nominated 22 runners for the 2014 Metropolitan, including Hawkspur

Trainer Chris Waller has nominated 22 runners for the 2014 Metropolitan, including Hawkspur. Photo: Steve Hart

Trainer Chris Waller is set to dominate the final field for the 2014 Metropolitan Handicap, having nominated a total of 22 runners for the Group 1 race, including the likes of Hawkspur, Moriarty, Our Voodoo Prince and Weary.

Winning the 2013 Group 1 Queensland Derby (2400m), Hawkspur was unable to reach peak condition over the 2013 Spring Racing Carnival, fading to finish a disappointing 20th in the Melbourne Cup.

Steadily building to the task over two black type starts so far this time in, Waller is confident the Purrealist gelding will be perfectly suited to the mile-and-a-half required for the 2014 Metropolitan.

A standout performer over the 2014 autumn and winter carnivals, Moriarty figured in competitive position in each of his nine race starts, winning the Group 2 Eagle Farm Cup (2200m) before finishing second in the Group 2 Brisbane Cup (2400m) On June 7th.

While failing to beat a single runner home in the Group 3 Show County Quality (1200m) first-up on August 23rd, Our Voodoo Prince is considered a leading contender for the featured Group 1 Caulfield Cup (2400m) on October 18th, having won each of his first three Australian starts through autumn, including the Group 3 Easter Cup (2000m).

Arguably one of the most talented current Australian-based runners yet to break through for a Group 1 victory, Weary failed to finish outside the places over five impressive starts through autumn, which included a strong win in the Group 3 Doncaster Prelude (1500m), third place in the Group 1 Doncaster Mile (1600m) and second in the Group 1 All Aged Stakes (1400m) on April 26th.

Macedon Lodge is also eyeing a multi-pronged attack on the 2014 Metropolitan, with trainer Robert Hickmott nominating eight of his stables stars, including classy trio Masked Marvel, Mourayan and Sea Moon.

Yet to appear on course competitively in 2014, Masked Marvel was purchased by owner Lloyd Williams with a view towards the 2013 Melbourne Cup, and while finishing in competitive position in both the Group 2 Hill Stakes (2000m) and Group 3 Craven Plate (2000m), was unable to figure at Group 1 level.

Winner of the 2013 edition of the Group 1 Sydney Cup (3200m), Mourayan contested a short 2014 autumn campaign, finishing second in the Group 2 Peter Young Stakes (1800m) and fourth in the Group 1 Australian Cup (2000m) and returning to the paddock after failing to beat a runner home in the Easter Cup.

Also purchased with a view towards Melbourne Cup success, Sea Moon appeared to have received the ideal lead-in to the Race that Stops a Nation, finishing second in the Listed Bart Cummings (2520m) and winning the Group 2 Herbert Power Stakes (2400m), but was unable to handle the late pace of eventual champion Fiorente, finishing 13th.

Leading online bookie Ladbrokes.com.au is currently offering the best early odds on all major races through the 2014 Spring Racing Carnival!

Open an account and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to claim a bonus bet of up to $250 which can be split up to four times!

2014 The Metropolitan Nominations

# Horse Trainer Hcp Rating
1 ALMANDIN (GER) Robert Hickmott
2 ANCIENT KING (IRE) Peter G Moody
3 ARALDO (GB) Michael Moroney
4 AY NO DIGAS (GER) Kris Lees 69
5 BAGMAN Chris Waller
6 BEST CASE (NZ) Anthony Cummings 85
7 BEST OF THE REST Anthony Cummings 62
8 BEYOND THANKFUL (IRE) Chris Waller 89
9 BONFIRE (GB) Gai Waterhouse 101
10 BRAMBLES (NZ) Peter G Moody
11 BRIGANTIN (USA) Chris Waller 102
12 CANNY BALLAD Joseph Pride 94
13 CELTIC PRINCE (NZ) Bjorn Baker 94
14 CRACKERJACK KING (IRE) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
15 DEANE MARTIN (NZ) Bruce Wallace 90
16 DELIBERATE John O’Shea 63
17 DESTINY’S KISS Joseph Pride 103
18 DISCLAIMER (GB) Peter & Paul Snowden 86
19 ENTIRELY PLATINUM (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 103
20 EVANGELIST (GB) Tony McEvoy 76
21 EXCESS KNOWLEDGE (GB) Gai Waterhouse 90
22 FOUNDRY (IRE) Robert Hickmott
23 GALLATIN John O’Shea 93
24 GOLDONI (IRE) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
25 GRAND MARSHAL (GB) Chris Waller 79
26 GREATWOOD (GB) Gai Waterhouse 90
27 HAWKSPUR Chris Waller 108
28 HE’S YOUR MAN (FR) Chris Waller 98
29 HOYLONNY Chris Waller 100
30 IBICENCO (GER) Peter G Moody 105
31 IGGI POP (NZ) John Sargent 93
32 JUNOOB (GB) Chris Waller 105
33 KAJIKA David Vandyke 57
34 KHALID (GB) Paul Perry 69
35 KINGDOMS (NZ) Brian Smith
36 LA AMISTAD Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes 100
37 LAIDBACK LARRY (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 89
38 LASER HAWK Joseph Pride 109
39 LUCKY CHAPPY (IRE) Chris Waller 97
40 MADE TO ORDER Chris Waller 78
41 MARKSMANSHIP (IRE) Ciaron Maher
42 MASKED MARVEL (GB) Robert Hickmott 108
43 MICHELANGELO (GB) Gai Waterhouse 97
44 MISSVONN David Vandyke 78
45 MISTER IMPATIENCE (GB) Michael Moroney
46 MOBACO (FR) Darren Weir
47 MORIARTY (IRE) Chris Waller 108
48 MOURAYAN (IRE) Robert Hickmott
49 MR O’CEIRIN (NZ) Ciaron Maher 103
50 MULAQEN (GB) Chris Waller
51 MULTILATERAL (USA) Chris Waller 89
52 MY KINGDOM OF FIFE (GB) Chris Waller 104
53 OAKDALE ROYAL (NZ) Wendy Haynes 70
54 OMINOUS (GB) Nigel Blackiston 88
55 OPINION (IRE) Chris Waller 102
56 ORDER OF THE SUN Gai Waterhouse 80
57 ORIENTAL LADY (GER) Kris Lees 86
58 OUR VOODOO PRINCE (GB) Chris Waller 100
59 PENTOMETER (NZ) Chris Waller 76
60 PROJECTILE Gai Waterhouse 80
61 QUEENSTOWN Gai Waterhouse 101
62 RAGTIME COWBOY JOE Matthew Smith 74
63 RAWNAQ David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
64 SABOR A TRIUNFO (CHI) Peter & Paul Snowden 93
65 SEA MOON (GB) Robert Hickmott 110
66 SECESSIO (GB) Chris Waller 98
67 SENTA HELGA Anthony Cummings 68
68 SHIKARPOUR (IRE) Robert Hickmott
69 SLIVOVITZ Kris Lees
70 SPECIFIC CHOICE Chris Waller 76
71 SPILLWAY (GB) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
72 SURPASS (NZ) Michael Moroney 87
73 THE UNITED STATES (IRE) Robert Hickmott
74 THOUGHT WORTHY (USA) Robert Hickmott 102
75 TOHUNGA (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 74
77 TRAVOLTA (NZ) Gai Waterhouse 103
78 TREMEC (NZ) John P Thompson 94
79 TUCANCHOO (NZ) Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes
80 TUPAC AMARU John O’Shea 98
81 UNCHAIN MY HEART David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
82 VOLEUSE DE COEURS (IRE) Michael Moroney 111
83 WEARY (FR) Chris Waller 106
84 WHO SHOT THEBARMAN (NZ) Chris Waller 103
85 WISH COME TRUE (IRE) Peter G Moody 98
86 WROTHAM HEATH (GB) David Hayes & Tom Dabernig
87 ZATAGLIO (NZ) David Vandyke 71